Old Post from Last Week: Being Thankful

So I’ve venture into the dark shadow side of the holidays, and thought I’d interrupt that topic with a more positive uplifting topic:

Make a list of what you are thankful for! Write it down, or make a drawing/collage/painting to go with it. Share or make the list with your significant other, child or children or a good friend, or even with your therapist…

When I worked at a Day Treatment Center for people with chronic mental illness, my favorite day was the Wednesday before Thanksgiving when we gathered as a big group for food and then the best part, when clients voluntarily stood up and announced to everyone gathered, clients and therapists, what they were thankful for. It was amazing to see people who normally had trouble saying anything in individual meetings or small groups stand and say what they were thankful for. Most memorable of the little speeches was the following:

(and I might add, I am remembering these statements from when I was an intern there in 1997 and when I worked there many years ago…)

“I am thankful to finally have a home after being homeless…”

“I am thankful for this program that helps me a lot…”

“I am thankful for my family…”

So I will add my own list:

I am thankful for everyone in my family.

I am thankful for having really really wonderful thoughtful and compassionate friends, old and new.

I am thankful for having a roof over my head, heat and electricity!

I am thankful for all the small things that make life worth living.

I am thankful for the opportunity to use my creativity in so many ways.

I am thankful I found art making as a way to express myself.

I am thankful to have started this blog, and I hope to find people who are interested in reading it and contributing to it.

Those are just a few…

Please Share Your Thoughts!

