Comments LinkedIn

Hello regular nice followers to my blog:
I’m in a lot if so called “professional” groups on LinkedIn. When I post, I usually share the link to this blog on those groups.

Someone from “Trauma, Loss, and Art Therapy”, of all places, where you’d expect people to be sensitive and respectful had this nasty stuff to say about my recent post on art and art therapy; in addition, he insulted people who live in New York, LA and other big cities:

“Here’s what I believe. In order to become a bored and certified art therapist, along with jumping through all the educational hoops and internships, one must also MAKE THEIR LIVING SOLELY THROUGH THEIR ARTWORK FOR AT LEAST ONE TO TWO YEARS. This should be a prerequisite for certification. I made my living as a potter for 15 years before I shifted gears. It puts a whole lot of reality and meaning to this art stuff. If I can do it, others are able to also. I read through your post and it seems like mental masturbation to me. I don’t mean to be cruel or disrespectful. Maybe brutally frank, though. Living Art can endow one with an eternity of meaning and knowing, that is, if one isn’t prone to materialistic, nilhilistic, egocentric b.s. that takes place in New York, L.A., and other “hot spots” around the globe. Make a living as an honest, searching artist. Searching and fighting to find then grow your own voice no matter what others say – it’s maddening yet empowering. I throw down the gauntlet. “This ain’t no party. This ain’t no disco. This ain’t no foolin’ around.” My two cents. ”

End of comment. This from a Board Certified Art Therapist. I told him it was rude and nasty and that I will not continue to post about my blog on there. In fact I decided to quit the group. I’m in plenty of other LinkedIn groups anyway. A bit of a dramatic reaction, but my thoughts are, why should I put up with kind of bull shit when I have plenty of nice readers who seem to like my posts and have made supportive constructive comments in this blog.

There sure are a lot of mean self righteous therapists out there! RecentIy, I got another comment that was pretty nasty in some other LinkedIn group from a person who could barely put a sentence together. I will not quote him here. I decided to ignore him…

What do you all think of my recent long post about art? Or about this post?

5 thoughts on “Comments LinkedIn

  1. We are not a ‘bored’ art therapists LOL. He sounds like a wounded healer, but without the healing if you know what I mean. I really enjoy your blog. Keep it up.

    Like

  2. It sounds like he is a very angry therapist. Ok, maybe this is slightly sarcastic, but maybe he should see a therapist about this? (yes, I know, he is one).

    I like that you are willing to stick with YOUR thoughts on how you should be a therapist. I like that you won’t let someone else define you.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry you are quitting this link, I enjoyed your piece and think that guy has a big problem! self righteous and judgmental….not someone I would be comfortable knowing or worse going to for therapy!!!!

    Like

  4. I like your artwork. The act of even “putting it out there” is wonderful. My own art has evolved directly because of my work as an art therapist. (Sometimes being an artist first is even a handicap to being an art therapist).Our work has some common visual features as well. Although I might respond in more depth at another time in response to your initial question, which is a compelling and important one about art/ art therapy, I just wanted to write and encourage you not to be pulled in my anyone’s comments that are not supportive. We can disagree respectfully but attacks are not productive and hurtful to say the least. I am enjoying many of the LinkedIn Groups and find most people tremendously generous in their helpful, informative and mentoring comments to other professionals and students and am really heartened by this. It really is quite wonderful isn’t it? I am sorry that you (and readers) were ‘burned’ by a respondent’s comment. Let the burn heal. It happens sometimes when we dance around the flames of the public fire, even when we didn’t know there was a fire (!).Continue the dance though. Going public is a powerful choice as you just found out. There is more good than bad.

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts!

