Probably Last Post Before Vacation! Should Be About Vacation!

What to say about vacation this year that I did not already cover about a year ago?

I am following my new rule about taking at least 14 days off. I will be away from the afternoon of Friday, July 12 through the afternoon of Monday, July 29, which turns out to be actually 17 days if you count the two half days at beginning and end as one day, so I am pleasantly surprised as I thought this year I could only miss two weeks of work. Essentially I will miss the two weeks and maybe a few more hours total.

Why care about missing days? For one, Money! Money, as I have blogged about it before, is quite important, especially when planning a vacation. First of all, I don’t get paid vacation days or sick days, so every day off is a day I am not making any money. In addition, vacations always cost money. This year, like last year, there are no expensive plane flights, just car rental and gas costs. Staying in a friend’s cabin upstate means no extra hotel costs, so it is a pretty low budget great vacation. Those of you that enjoy camping and being outdoors in the middle of nowhere would appreciate my choice of going again to the Froggy Pond Cabin in upstate NY near Cuba, NY which is close to the bigger town of Olean, NY. Another reason to care about days I will be on vacation is really just that I discovered the hard way that one week is not enough for me. It takes me a while to get used to being away from the noisy energetic city and adjust to the relative peaceful, calm and silent aspects of the woods. Then coming back involves transitioning back to civilization, so usually there is a visit at the end to old friends in Ithaca, which is a small town but not in the woods in the middle of nowhere!

Some of the great things about taking this same vacation for the third (I think it’s three, might be more) year in a row is that I get the same benefits at a low cost: being in nature, away from the city, for the most part away from the internet though I check emails from time to time, but it’s really a vacation from the annoying distractions of TV and internet, then the frogs again. Going there in end of July is a perfect time to hear the frogs wonderful chorus, especially at night! Plenty of time for art making out doors and making art on vacation is different from making art in NYC. This year wanting to pack light, I will not bring a ton of materials but will have the fun of shopping at JoAnne’s, which is really fun, as usually I get things from there online. There is a Joannes in Staten Island but I have no idea how to get there. Plus shopping on vacation is more fun anyway. There are cool dollar stores with odd kinds of things and surprises, plus JoAnnes which has a lot of crafts materials, and once in a while some random shopping mall has cool outlets to check out. There is also some planting to do, so going and buying soil and flowers and stuff like that is fun and different.

Each year we try to think of new things to do. Last year we went to a drive in movie, which I think was the first one I’ve ever been to! So we will do that again. Maybe some berry picking and hiking. For me always there is reading as I love reading but seldom have time to really read a whole book. This year I am being strict with myself, no books related to my work, so I will bring some kind of book of poetry, one or two graphic novels and maybe a memoir…

Ok. I’m off to a movie, so I will actually post again before vacation! as I haven’t finished with my thoughts on vacation…

Please Share Your Thoughts!

