Blogging 101 Day 1 task: introduction: Who I am and What My Blog is About

I’ve been taking a great blogging class, and I am finally doing my homework! This is the first assignment! For me it’s the Evolution of my blog to where it is today.

I started blogging a long time ago, and this blog has over 200 posts, but I only recently changed its title and tag line. To begin with, I thought I was doing a blog about art therapy, as a way to informally introduce people to it who don’t know what it is, and to promote my own philosophies and slant on my work as an art therapist and psychotherapist in private practice. Once I got going, I realized I missed the act of writing, and that I enjoy writing about a variety of topics, from art therapy to psychology to stereotypes, gender, mindfulness and death and loss.

The blog has continued to evolve, and recently my interest in Social media that I just started exploring, Twitter and YouTube, got me thinking more about my blog and what I want it to be about. I realized I wanted to get back to what has been a personal focus since I started art therapy training, the identity of being an artist first and foremost and layering it with that of the art therapist. My former professor and mentor Arthur Robbins described an art therapist as “having the soul of an artist.”

Thus, as a professional artist and art therapist, I have always been interested in the balance of these two identities for myself as well as others. My studio turned into an artist studio art therapy office blend many years ago when I started my private practice, and has remained that ever since. Ironically I moved to a new studio that happened to have two rooms, and, given the choice of making each room a specific kind of room, I chose to make both rooms for art making and work with others. That metaphor has carried out in my approach to art and art therapy. For example, if a friend or colleague drops by, we often end up making art during the visit. I’ve always wanted my studio to be inviting for all kinds of people to make art, especially people who don’t usually do so.

On Facebook, I’ve had two professional pages, one for being an artist and one for being an art therapist. For some reason it works well to separate them on Facebook but not on other social media like Twitter and YouTube which I only just started using. Tweeting lends itself to unifying both parts.

So a few weeks ago, I had a revelation about this blog, that I wanted it to reflect my identity as an artist too, and I realized I could make it more personal as well, by simply changing the title and tag line along with the inclusive focus! I don’t know why it took so long for me to realize this, but I think my first foray into blogging just involved keeping up regular posting, and occasionally getting a guest post on my colleague’s blog about stereotypes.

Now I’m in the deeper stage of blogging where I’m looking more closely at my blog, and really fine tuning it. Turning it into “Musings of an Artist/Art Therapist” was instrumental in inspiring me to go deeper with the blog and explore how I can make it more personal and more “me” while keeping it professional.

It also brings me back to my main focus as a creative artist and a healer, that to heal “make oneself whole”, we need to revive and reawaken and nurture our creative spirit, that sickness of the emotional and spiritual bodies is directly connected to a sickness of our inner artist and that we can always heal and return to that creative part of ourselves that is integral to awakening to a fuller and more fulfilled life, in our relationship to both ourselves and others.

Coincidentally, I posted about the new title and focus before I found wordpress’s great Blogging 101, which I signed up for without thinking much about it.

As I was busy the first nine days of the month preparing for my altered book workshop,I missed the first ten days or so of the blogging class and only recently got refocused on it; a whole new world has opened up way beyond just changing the title and focus, and I’ve encountered a whole new community of bloggers, which has been perhaps the most delightful part, that we all share a love of blogging and seeing and reading each other’s blogs, with very diverse topics and interests…
G topics, from art therapy to psychology to stereotypes, gender, mindfulness and death and loss.

The blog has continued to evolve, and recently my interest in Social media that I just started exploring, Twitter and YouTube, got me thinking more about my blog and what I want it to be about.

As a professional artist and art therapist, I have been interested in the balance of these two identities for myself as well as others. My studio turned into an artist studio art therapy office blend many years ago when I started my private practice, and has remained that ever since. Ironically I moved to a new studio that happened to have two rooms, and, given the choice of making each room a specific kind of room, I chose to make both rooms for art making and work with others. That metaphor has carried out in my approach to art and art therapy. For example, if a friend or colleague drops by, we often end up making art during the visit. I’ve always wanted my studio to be inviting for all kinds of people to make art, especially people who don’t usually do so.

On Facebook, I’ve had two professional pages, one for being an artist and one for being an art therapist. For some reason it works well to separate them on Facebook but not on other social media like Twitter and YouTube which I only just started using. Tweeting lends itself to unifying both parts. So a few weeks ago, I had a revelation about this blog, that I wanted it to reflect my identity as an artist too and I realized I could make it more personal as well, by simply changing the title and tag line along with the inclusive focus! I don’t know why it took so long for me to realize this, but I think my first foray into blogging just involved keeping up regular posting, and occasionally getting a guest post on my colleague’s blog about stereotypes. Now I’m in the deeper stage of blogging where I’m looking more closely at my blog.

Coincidentally I posted about the new title and focus before I found wordpress’s great Blogging 101, which I signed up for without thinking much about it.

As I was busy preparing for my altered book workshop I missed the first ten days or so of the blogging class and only recently got refocused on it; a whole new community of bloggers, which has been perhaps the most delightful part, that we all share a love of blogging and seeing and reading each other’s blogs, with very diverse topics and interests… And that everyone is very invested in helping each other to make our blogs the best they can be. It’s a very supportive environment. As an introvert who has had a wonderful journey discovering a sense of community through social media, I very moved by this diverse group of bloggers and how much we can all learn from each other, thanks to WordPress’ great “Blogging 101”!

Please Share Your Thoughts!

