BLogging 101 Day 9: Inspire Yourself!

This assignment comes from the assignment of the day before, to create an “About Me” page. I just got rid of my boring “Profile”  and substituted a more passionate “About Me” page: https://natashashapiroarttherapy.wordpress.com/about/

I’m pretty satisfied with it, but the featured image does not seem to show up. Anyway I will post some images to this post that reflect the idea of writing a post inspired by my “About me” post.

While writing it, I remembered this great quote from one of my favorite artists, Louise Bourgeois; its from her book, “Drawings and Observations”, which is a great book that I own and used to look at frequently but of course, like lots of things at my house, I can’t find the book!

So from another book of her work, here are some interesting quotes:

My early work is the fear of falling.

Later on it became the art of falling. How to fall without hurting yourself.

Later on it is the art of hanging in there…Hanging in there-the art of living, the art of a lifetime. -Louise Bourgeois

IMG_1161

I choose these three because they also apply to art therapy and the therapeutic process for both therapist and patient. “Hanging in there” sums it up in terms of once you get yourself going; now that I am in my 40’s I have passed the other stages, the fear of falling and the art of falling.

IMG_1146

There is much to say about hanging in there, but for me it involves returning to my basic survival kit, my art supplies and my “portable studio”, doing art anywhere and everywhere including in my current studio.

As the making marks on paper or any surface is mainly a non verbal process, I won’t say too much about it, as I still believe what I discovered over a quarter century ago, that art making was a balm for all the words expected of us all the time, a sanctuary from explanation, a sacred space to make your own without need for verbalizing. Hanging in there is about just showing up every day to your life.

Here is the image I tried to use for the About Me page:

IMG_1144

It’s a page from my journal, from 9/25/2010.

IMG_1144.JPG

Here are a few pages from the journal I started this month:

IMG_1210.JPG

IMG_1211.JPG

IMG_1212.JPG

Please Share Your Thoughts!

