Just Show Up and Be Here Now! Getting through difficult times like the holidays…

For some, the holidays are your favorite time of year and you love almost everything about them. As therapists, we are well aware that the holidays may be more than unpleasant for other people. In fact, for some, it is a matter of surviving the holidays and breathing a sigh of relief on Jan. 2.

For anybody, whether you like the holidays or not, if you need to ease up on yourself and your own self judgments, this piece from Elephant Journal about Yoga is great. I will copy the link but also take the article and substitute “I” and other appropriate words for the word Yoga and change it around slightly to be a reflection on our abilities to be nice to ourselves.

Here is the original article. You may not be able to read it after today as the Elephant Journal locks the articles on their site to encourage joining…
http://www.elephantjournal.com/2014/11/yoga-doesnt-care-a-disclaimer-that-should-be-posted-in-every-studio/

You and your life are not defined by your lifestyle, beliefs, weight, diet, flexibility, how spiritual or enlightened you are, or if you even are “spiritual” at all. You are just about being yourself and just choosing to show up each new day—You are not alone in the daily struggle. For many, each day is a new struggle just to show up to his/her life and stay. This post honors those with the most despair and pain who are brave and show up despite all the emotional scars and pain.

Try saying this to yourself when you are down on yourself or not “doing enough” or “changing” enough.

I don’t care what my hair looks like.

I don’t care how I am dressed today or if I even was able to get out of bed and shower and dress.

I don’t care if I am following some kind of fancy or healthy eating plan or eating the “bad” foods today. It’s good enough that I show up and eat something to keep myself going…

I don’t care when the last time I did this particular activity (fill in the blanks)

I don’t care if I show up cranky or exhausted to my life today.

I don’t care what I believe in or if I believe “in” anything. I’m here and that is enough.

I don’t care what color my skin is or what gender I choose to love or what gender or non gender I am. I don’t care about others’ appearance, sexual orientation, gender, etc. either. We all share similar struggles and pain.

I don’t care how much money I have, what house or space I live in, what car I drive, or if I have to live on the streets right now.

I don’t care what my apartment, house, living space etc. looks like right now. It doesn’t matter; what matters is that I am still here anyway.

I don’t care if I smoke cigarettes, drink, use substances that are illegal, eat too much, binge and purge, starve myself, or am addicted to sex or other things or whether I hoard things in my abode. I’m still here and I showed up to this new day and that is enough.

I don’t care if I am single, with someone, with several people, in a messy relationship, stuck in a difficult relationship or anything else.

I don’t care when I woke up or if I have not gotten out of bed, I’m still here even if I have to stay in bed all day.

I don’t care what my job is, whether I have one, whether I graduated high school, college, grad school, whether I finished any project or life goal or whether I even have anything I want to “do with my life”.

I don’t care if I have a family or none at all, and I don’t care what my family or anyone else thinks about me.

I care that I showed up for today. I care enough to stay.

One thought on “Just Show Up and Be Here Now! Getting through difficult times like the holidays…

Please Share Your Thoughts!

