Explanation of Poetry assignment

The first assignment for the Writing 201: Poetry online blogging class is to write a poem about Water. The form is the well known Haiku poem or a “Tanka”: “Combine haiku with its meatier cousin, tanka, which follows a 5-7-5-7-7 syllabic pattern.”

The “device” for the assignment is the “simile”. I posted my poem separately. It is called Puddle. I wrote it in a moving car, so I’m not sure if that helped or not! I like having constraints and topics for poetry, as it is not my primary medium.

My personal relationship with poetry: I wrote a lot of poetry in high school and college. In college I published poems in a publication I helped start as an alternate to the main literary review of student work. I even took a class on poetry taught by Seamus Heaney himself which was amazing. Since then I had not written or read much poetry until recently when I started writing poetry in sessions with a patient who is a really good poet. That actually was what woke me up to writing poetry again, so I’m very excited to participate in this great WordPress class…

Please Share Your Thoughts!

