Writing 201: Poetry, Day Six: Hero(ine), Ballad, Epistrophe

Ok this one is just out of my league. Since I am a night owl up late who fights against having to sleep and wake up at crazy hours like 7 or 8am, here is my attempt at ballad. The villain is sleep and staying up is the heroine!

Ballad: To the Night

I want you and I don’t…
Oh why can’t I stay?
I won’t I won’t I won’t.
I won’t let you take away,

I won’t let you take away
My mind and my hands.
Don’t close my lids til day.
It’s measured out in sands.

Sands go through as time,
Time goes by this night:
This night I want to stay
Awake awake to play.

To play alone this night.
Don’t close my lids til day.
I stay up and fight
You, sleep! Yes sleep,

Sleep that eats away,
Eats away my life.
I’m getting old for day;
The night is here my wife

Awake I will refuse you.
Sleep, like death, you erase,
You erase me. I want to do-
To do something all night long.

So I stay up to write this song.
I want you and I don’t:
Sleep you take so long.
I will you and I won’t!

2 thoughts on “Writing 201: Poetry, Day Six: Hero(ine), Ballad, Epistrophe

Please Share Your Thoughts!

