Let’s Travel, and Castle on a Cloud



I am working on a large coloring mural, which is marvelous and full of wonders, a world map with an elephant, a whale, a unicorn, and also at the top on one of the clouds, a little castle on a cloud…

I recently heard this song, “Castle on a Cloud”, for the first time performed by children at a show; then I watched the movie version of “Les Miserables” (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1707386/), made in 2012, mostly because I wanted to see and hear the song in the movie! As I expected,, much of the movie was miserable, however, the moment when the child playing Cosette sings the song, Castle on a Cloud, was so beautiful, an enchanted gem in a muddy too long movie. The lyrics are also beautiful and they capture what children (and deep down, probably adults too), want most of all: love, affection, a home, nothing sad to cry about, no yelling, gentleness. Here are the lyrics and an image of Rebecca Rebouche’s coloring mural. Her very large mural is entitled “Let’s Travel”; I was given one and went to the store and bought three more as it is so enchanting and perfect for art therapy. I highly recommend it for all ages, individual and group, and even family art therapy:

Here is the link to the image on Anthropologie’s website:
http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/product/shopgifts-under-fifty/33736455.jsp#/

Here are the lyrics to the song:

“Castle On A Cloud”
(performed by Isabelle Allen)

There is a castle on a cloud,
I like to go there in my sleep,
Aren’t any floors for me to sweep,
Not in my castle on a cloud.

There is a room that’s full of toys.
There are a hundred boys and girls.
Nobody shouts or talks too loud,
Not in my castle on a cloud.

There is a lady all in white,
Holds me and sings a lullaby,
She’s nice to see and she’s soft to touch,
She says, “Cosette, I love you very much.”

I know a place where no one’s lost,
I know a place where no one cries,
Crying at all is not allowed,
Not in my castle on a cloud.



One thought on “Let’s Travel, and Castle on a Cloud

Please Share Your Thoughts!

