Day 5: Strange Letter, Be Brief!

Writing 101 – An Attempt to be Brief.
APRIL 10, 2015
Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path.You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Walking to my studio on Franklin St. I’m on the East side of Broadway. I see a telephone booth. I go to it to put one of my free art creative deed365 cards on top of the telephone as usual. There’s a letter there. I take the letter and replace it with the art card.

The envelope is purple with stickers on it. The stickers are flowers, butterflies, cats, dogs, owls. The letter says, TO the Crazy Artist Who Left her Art Cards All Over the Neighborhood.

Whoops. This letter is for me! I open it up and there’s a card, plain white. The front says “Thank you.” I open it up: Dear Crazy, Thanks for all the Free Art Cards. Maybe this neighborhood is not going to be totally taken over by the real estate developers. Please stay in Tribeca and do your thing! Signed, A Resident Who is Getting Kicked Out of her building after living there for 17 years…

2 thoughts on “Day 5: Strange Letter, Be Brief!

Please Share Your Thoughts!

