Serially Lost: Post 3, Poetry about Loss: Ghosts

In writing these posts, I’ve realized it’s hard to find poems about loss that aren’t about death. In the second lost poems post I managed to find some fun posts about objects and misplacing things, lighter “loss” poems. For this last ones, I wanted to find some poems from the perpective of the lost person, the dead one. Are there any interesting poems out there written from the point of view of a corpse, a ghost, a spirit?

Not an easy task to find the kind of poem I am looking for but here is a great one!

by Mary Elizabeth Frye:

Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.

Source: http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/do-not-stand-by-my-grave-and-weep#ixzz3X1eDkUJa

Here’s one about ghosts

Unbidden

Rae Armantrout1947
The ghosts swarm.
They speak as one
person. Each
loves you. Each
has left something
undone.

          •

Did the palo verde
blush yellow
all at once?

Today’s edges
are so sharp

they might cut
anything that moved.

          •

The way a lost 
word

will come back
unbidden.

You’re not interested
in it now,

only
in knowing
where it’s been.

Rae Armantrout, “Unbidden” from Versed. Copyright © 2009 by Rae Armantrout.

Lastly to end on a funny note, I actually googled “I thought I saw A Ghost” and found this great funny poem. Please go to the link to read it:

http://www.gigglepoetry.com/poem.aspx?PoemID=400&CategoryID=18

Please Share Your Thoughts!

