Day 3 Task

Ok. Start with the funny thing that no matter how much I think I am paying attention, I still manage to be oblivious! I wrote this whole post on the Blogging Class Site’s Draft writing page and even posted it before realizing when it was published that I posted it on the wrong blog! Luckily I figured out how to erase it. So I’m late with this post. It’s Day 8 of the class. I’m going to say yay that I did Day 3,  a lot of Day 4 and some Day 6. I just haven’t posted about them.

Day 3’s task was not as difficult or complicated as any of the others thus far!

Assignment: Get Read All Over: make sure your site is mobile-friendly, and familiarize yourself with the features of responsive design.

I looked at the different formats for my blog. I discovered that, luckily, when I just recently changed my theme, it is a theme that works well for tablets and phones, so no work needed to be done. So I did learn about the idea of “responsive design” which is a term I didn’t know that kind of says that when you design a website or internet site of any kind, it’s important to see how the look of it “responds” to all formats, including the computer larger screen, the tablet and the smallest, the smart phone. I also noticed myself noticing more what other people’s blogs look like on my phone!

About the class: My interest in improving my own “DBT Skills”, especially Mindfulness which is part of all the skills, goes well with this class. For me most important involves “paying attention” to  and noticing and caring about aspects of this blogging process I mostly ignored since starting in 2011.

I ignored it because I was focused on content and getting readers and following other people, which is still the most important aspect of blogging. However, as with foods I avoided trying as a kid, I now have a lot of new exciting things to try out and learn about which have been there all along!

(Here is where I did not notice I was on the wrong site’s draft page!

So, for example, when I’m on a WordPress page like this posting page, I notice the word count,  then on the left sidebar I see there are things for Sharing, Location, Excerpt and Advanced Settings. There’s a “Slug” box I should find out about. Never noticed that before. There is the post format, which is set to “Standard”. What are other options? Visibility says “Public”. It’s one thing I do already know about. So the Format turns out to be a choice among things like, Quote, Link, Video, Image. There is one option I don’t know: “Aside”. I guess I will start a new post to see what that involves. Also at the top of this posting box there are a few options I haven’t explored, symbols I am not familiar with:

I just found out that the icon on the far right is a “Toolbar Toggle” that when pushed shows even more Toolbar options. There’s an icon next to it to go to full screen for your draft. And you can get it proofread by clicking on the icon third from right, something I never did before as I would look it over by myself. I can change the text color now that I opened up that option with the Toolbar toggle, so I will make the text a different color right now!

I’m also going to do something new and “Preview” my post to see what it looks like!

One thought on “Day 3 Task

Please Share Your Thoughts!

