Poem: I Will Not Be Reasonable

I don’t like

When people say,

“Everything happens for a reason.”

I will not be reasonable. Yes, I won’t.

I don’t want to miss

the seven impossible things before breakfast.

Or the disappearance of the missing socks

that will not stay with their twins.

Those socks are not reasonable. Yes, I won’t be too.

I will put on my shirt backwards inside out

And wear a gold fancy dress to coffee.

Yes, I will disturb

The state of Things.

I will eat cupcakes for breakfast.

I will not be reasonable. Yes, I won’t

I will put my elbows on the table

And eat my fork, knife and spoon.

I will drop stitches, forget to cross my t’s

I will forget my pleases.

I will stand on my head and walk on my nose,

And start my sentences with and.

I will ride my purple unicorn

All over your reasonable explanations.

I will mess up your reasons one by one

And give them back to you glued to the

Outside of your Box so you have to peek out and take them back;

I don’t care if they shrank and turned pink in the wash.

Now we can both say seven impossible things

to each other

Before every meal.

Please Share Your Thoughts!

