My New Project: #Bathroom Art Only

Here is the link to the great news for NYC, which should be a model for everywhere, USA:

http://nypost.com/2016/06/20/public-bathrooms-are-about-to-become-transgender-friendly/

I am posting quickly about my project in honor of today’s great news that NYC public bathrooms will finally be liberated from binary gender and open to all genders. (There are people other than those who identify as transgender who also benefit from this news coming true.)

About three weeks ago, I embarked on a “new” art project that was inspired by my passion about all gender issues and conversations about gender. I have been passionate about bathrooms needing to be done with the binary gender signs and words. It’s not enough to turn the “dress” into a “cape”. The real super heroes are those who need complete liberation from gender inequality and gender stereotypes including those about what “transgender” is/means.


Anyway, I decided to do several things with my art project, starting with the idea of this art will only be intended to be put in a public or private bathroom, so the “# Bathroom Art Only”. The other part was Gender Activism which I had been involved with in past art projects from years ago. For here now in 2016, the Gender Activism part of this Bathroom Art Only involves making art signs for public and private bathrooms as well as other things like door hangers, pins and ribbons, all kinds of small art that can be given out for free or sold for $1. More on that in future posts.

The other part, I guess third part, involves guest artists, which I will feature in my posts, social media and maybe shows, and in my studio on my “Exhibition Wall”.

Lastly, this project will involve a lot of input from children, as I have already had great responses to my project from several kids who have come to my studio and been inspired. One made the first door hanger which is in my home bathroom, and others made some fun bathroom art. I plan to do a youtube video called “Kids speak out about Gender” and I will be interviewing some enlightened kids of whatever gender. I am always inspired by children, because the majority of kids really “get it”, what is really important and how to simplify and clarify your message. Believe it or not, children are usually better at communicating that adults!


More for further posts. I will post photos in this post or the next one…

Below a post it added with no prompting by a child to list of studio rules on my office door!

Please Share Your Thoughts!

