The Sketchbook Project

The statement for the Sketchbook Project, theme: Distance from Origin:

The theme, “Distance from origin” fits this book perfectly. I must go far away from the origin and then come back and on the way re make everything from the beginning up to now through recycling, repurposing, editing. It originates with me drawing in it and then covering and cutting up those drawings, and continuing drawing/writing, cutting up, covering, using collage- going into old sketchbooks/journals and taking out pages to glue in the sketchbook.  At the end, the back cover is the distance from the origin of the sketchbook – the front cover.I wrote and edited and rewrote my artist statement for my first sketchbook for the Sketchbook Project 2017, called “Many Minds”.

I made up the title way before I did the book so I can’t remember what my many minds were thinking.

This is the first artist statement that I’ve written that actually makes sense to me. I’m sure old ones about old work were interesting and made sense. I saw one for a project I can’t remember the title of and the title was the whole point.

This is the first artist statement I’ve felt sort of is applicable to all my work, which is one thing none of my other well written and badly written artist statements did. Since I am very good at forgetting, actually this artist statement is about how I get knowledge from my creativity to make something I’ve never made before but is sort of familiar and completely new. I combine the forgotten completely, the half remembered, the newly found forgotten stuff and forget what I’m supposed to be doing, do a lot of stuff without thinking about it, get more ideas, start fitting it all together by taking it apart and redoing it.

The Sketchbook Project is the only art project I’ve really focused on how the process of creating is for me. I wondered this year why I was doing it again. It’s very obsessive and takes too much time, then I go through a terrible unpleasant slightly pleasant process and it takes forever to finish, but I have to finish it.

Here is my statement again; given the theme of origin and distance, maybe it reads differently after :

 

 

The theme, “Distance from origin” fits this book perfectly. I must go far away from the origin and then come back and on the way re make everything from the beginning up to now through recycling, repurposing, editing. It originates with me drawing in it and then covering and cutting up those drawings, and continuing drawing/writing, cutting up, covering, using collage- going into old sketchbooks/journals and taking out pages to glue in the sketchbook.  At the end, the back cover is the distance from the origin of the sketchbook – the front cover.

Please Share Your Thoughts!

